Main navigation

Staff Directory

  • Reset
Viewlands ~ Attendance
Karen Abbott

Abbott, Karen

Administrative Assistant, Attendance Specialist, Registrar, Volunteer Program Liaison

kaabbott@seattleschools.org

Alams, Grace

Creative Kids Director

ngalams@seattleschools.org

Allen, Priscilla

ELL Certificated Teacher

pmallen@seattleschools.org

Andrade, Norma

Teacher-4th Grade

ncandrade@seattleschools.org

8th year teaching as a 4th  or 5th grade teacher, with 4 years at Viewlands. I love working at Viewlands (and teaching) because I learn every single day.  I’m a student of life. I love reading, running, and writing where I can escape since my family and I are not really travelling these days (or years really). Nah humbug.  COVID, will we defeat you one day?

Octavo ano enseñando como profesora de 4º o 5º grado, con 4 años en Viewlands. Me encanta trabajar en Viewlands (y enseñar) porque aprendo todos los días.  Soy  estudiante de la vida. Me encanta leer, correr y escribir donde puedo escapar, ya que mi familia y yo no estamos viajando realmente en estos días (o años realmente). Que pena!  COVID, ¿desapareceras algún día?

Arango, Craig

Teacher-5th Grade

cdarango@seattleschools.org
Lauren 2021

Bangasser, Lauren

Physical Education

lmbangasser@seattleschools.org

Hi! My name is Lauren Bangasser and I am the Physical Education teacher at Viewlands. Outside of work I can be found biking, skiing, dancing, hiking, walking my dog around Greenlake, and playing soccer and Ultimate frisbee. I look forward to working with our students and sharing my love of physical activity with them. I believe that movement is for everybody and it is my goal to help all of our students find different ways of moving that bring them joy, allow them to connect with their peers, and build their skills and confidence for an active life.

Liz Barr

Barr, Liz

School Nurse

elbarr@seattleschools.org

I enjoy taking care of kids and keeping everyone healthy. When I am not at school I enjoy hiking, reading and gardening.

Barry, Erica

Counselor & 504 Building Coordinator

esbarry@seattleschools.org

*Viewlands hours: Mondays, Thursdays, alternate Wednesdays*

I started working at Viewlands in 2021 and am thrilled to continue on again this year! I feel lucky to work with this amazing community of staff, students and families. As a half-time counselor, I work one-on-one with students who need extra support, run small groups, and teach classroom lessons on problem solving and SEL (social-emotional learning). I serve all students at the school and any student can contact me to check-in as needed. Feel free to contact me by email with any questions or concerns you have about your student!

Cole, Miki

Special Education Distinct Instructional Assistant

micole@seattleschools.org
John Conom

Conom, John

Teacher - Special Education K-2

jbconom@seattleschools.org

Cullen-Benson, Brendan

Teacher-Art

bccullenbens@seattleschools.org

I am the visual arts teacher for all students at Viewlands. I have been teaching art over a decade, everything from kindergarten up to 12th grade, but I have spent the last 6 years at Viewlands. I have a family of my own here in Seattle after moving here 8 years ago and it’s a community I am proud to be part of! I feel that my role here at Viewlands is to provide our students with an outlet to best express themselves and give all students frequent exposure to the many tools and mediums of art. I make art myself and know firsthand how it has made my own life better and look forward to sharing that with all the students at Viewlands.

Leandra 2021

Davidson, Leandra

Protected Care Health Room Supervisor

lddavidson@seattleschools.org

Leandra is a cat lover, traveler, teller of jokes, hoodie collector, thrifter, food lover, adventurer, and coffee connoisseur.

Dewey-Valentine, Clay

Teacher-3rd Grade

cjdeweyvalen@seattleschools.org

Clay Valentine grew up attending Seattle Public Schools and returned to them 5 years ago to be a teacher. He has taught 3rd, 4th, and 5th grades and now works as a reading and math support specialist. When he's not teaching, you can find him on the disc golf course, reading a science fiction novel, or coaching ultimate frisbee.

Erickson, Kirsten

Teacher-Kindergarten

klerickson@seattleschools.org

Giaquinto, Stephanie

Audiologist

sagiaquinto@seattleschools.org

Godoy, Alexandra

Teacher-2nd Grade

amgodoy@seattleschools.org

Hello! I am Ms. Godoy, and I am thrilled to be one of Viewlands’ new second-grade teachers! I aim to create a platform for students to develop their creative potential as storytellers, innovators, and participants in their communities. One of the best parts of second grade, in my opinion, is the exploration that happens; we are able to build off of students’ brilliant observations and curiosities. My goal is always to create a classroom atmosphere that benefits from the wealth of knowledge that every student brings. Honoring different perspectives and experiences while forming new ones.

Here is a little about me:

I’ve known I’ve wanted to be a teacher since I was in the first grade when I would hold reading classes in the kitchen for my younger sister. Everything I learned in school, I would rush home to teach her. While kitchen-school lit my fire to teach, I learned how to apply my passion for teaching in a practical way during my studies at UW Bothell. I received a Bachelor of Arts in Elementary Education with an endorsement in teaching multilingual students. Learning to create linguistically affirming classrooms was important to me because I was born in El Salvador and grew up in California. The ability to speak Spanish has helped me stay connected to my family, my grandmothers’ stories, and overall culture. Spanish also connected my family to the vital community that supported our journey and walked alongside us through joyful and difficult seasons. Needless to say, my first language and cultural background has been a rich resource in my learning and teaching and has set a precedent for how I wish to approach my students as well. I hope to engage students with their own rich resources. Aside from teaching, I enjoy kayaking, picnics, and exploring Washington’s many hiking trails with my husband.

I am excited to meet and work alongside you to serve Viewlands’ students so that they may feel known, safe, inspired, challenged, and empowered. I look forward to a memorable year!

Alexander Gorohoff

Gorohoff, Alexander

Teacher-Academic Intervention

atgorohoff@seattleschools.org
Nicole Hill

Hill, Nicole

Special Education Instructional Assistant

nchill@seattleschools.org

Kelil, Gebiyo

Custodial Engineer

gmkelil@seattleschools.org